Safely move on from COVID-19

Creating and Customising a Track

The concept of Tracks is based on a Kanban board, allowing you to visualise your work items on a number of columns. As work flows from left to right, each column represents the status of the work, for example ‘To-do’, ‘Doing’, ‘Pending response’ ‘Resolved’. You see a shared team view of all the work that is in the system which encourages prioritisation and collaborative working.

ISMS.online comes with pre-built Tracks, including:

You can also create your own Tracks for purposes such as managing correspondence, referrals, customer service and server patching.

Creating a Track

Tracks are populated with Track Items, these are pieces of work represented on the Track, it progresses through the columns until it has been completed. An Item can be given a category, assigned to a member of the team and have Documents and Connected Initiatives attached to it.

Visibility

Other users can see a Track and its items if they’re a part of the team, as with all ISMS.online Initiatives. You can check who has access to the Track by clicking Team in the top right-hand corner of the screen.

Navigating to Tracks

Find Tracks in the Work menu on your main navigation bar.

Creating a new Track

In the Tracks area of ISMS.online, click ‘Create new Track’.

Give your Track an appropriate name and purpose and goals then click ‘Create Track’.

Customising a Track

Your Track can be customised from the Settings page. From this page, you can customise your Track in various ways.

Click Settings in the top right-hand corner of your Track, here you can change the name and description of the Track and customise the statuses and categories.

Track Settings

To customise your Track, navigate to the Track page and click on the ‘Settings’ link in the top right of your screen. This will take you to your settings page:

Track Name and Purpose and Goals

You can change the name and the purpose and goals of your Track at any time, remember to click Save Settings after making amendments.

Status

Statuses form the basis of the Track and help you to Track Items as they progress towards completion. They also help you identify any build-ups in the system, so you can ensure workflows freely.

There is a column on the Track for each status. There are two mandatory statuses; ‘To-do’, which is always at the start and ‘Resolved’, which is always at the end. Status can be added, edited or deleted in between to meet your needs.

You can have as many statues as you need and the screen will expand to fill your monitor ensuring you can visualise your work across the whole system.


Outcomes

When resolving a Track item you are asked to define the outcome of that work, by default the Track is configured with four outcomes; Complete, Incomplete; Duplicate and Declined. These can be customised as you need via the settings area of the Track. Customising outcomes works in the same way as Status and Category customisation.


Upon resolving an item, this window will pop up:

Categories

These can be used to tag your Track items so you can filter and report based on the categories assigned. See here for further details on administering Tracks.


Categories are defined in the Track Settings page, you will then select/update these categories in the Track item itself:

Financial Value

Activating this option allows you to assign a financial value to Track items, The values will them be totalled for each status (column) and the Track overall.


Please note, changing currency does not perform any conversions on values you’ve entered, just the currency symbol to represent those values.

Deleting & Archiving

Deletion – Admins of a Track can choose to delete it, doing so will remove the Track, all Track items and all discussions, documents, notes, tasks and anything else the Track contained so this should only be used when you are certain that deleting the information is required.

Archiving – We also offer the ability to Archive the Track, this will remove it from your list of active Tracks but it can still be accessed via the ‘Archived’ button on the Tracklisting page, contents of the Track will still be searchable from the main search bar.

Applying Default Deadlines to Items

If you operate to a standard response time for items on your track (or just want to make sure track items aren’t left without a deadline) you can configure your track to apply a default deadline when a new item is added.

Setup

To activate, edit or remove a default deadline you will need to have Administer rights over the track in question.

  • Click on to the settings cog in the top right of the track area
  • Find the grey panel with the heading “Default Deadline” and click the edit pencil for that panel
  • You will see three drop downs for Weeks, Days and Hours that allow you to specify the deadline to be applied when an item is created. If you want to remove a deadline set each of these drop downs to the “select” option

How it works

If you set a default deadline of 14 days. On the 1st June a new item is created at 10:00 that item will be given a due date of 10:00 on the 15th June. Please note that the default deadline doesn’t take into account business hours, weekends or bank holidays.

If a track item has a due date set by default it can still be amended later to reflect a change in the deadline for that one item. If you amend the default deadline it will affect new items created after that point, no existing due dates will be altered.

Note: Now that you’ve created and customised a Track, see here for how to work within Tracks.