European Union

View all Glossary

What is the European Union?

The European Union (EU) is a union of 28 member states, the majority of which are located Europe. Each state collaborates and follows the same or very similar laws and obligations around politics and economics.

Founded on 1st November 1993, the European Union headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), also known as the EU GDPR, was approved by the EU Parliament in April 2016. Te GDPR will give back control to individuals when it comes to how their personal data is used.

Who is in the European Union?

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom